CWC19: Player of the Tournament After Week Three

Who does Adrian Meredith think is the player of the tournament after week three of the 2019 World Cup?

In Australian Football, the Brownlow medal is awarded based on a 3-2-1 voting system for each match. While the World Cup doesn’t use that system, I thought to imagine that they did. I am going to award 3 points each time a player gets the man of the match award (regardless of whether I agree with the decision), then 2 and 1 for the next two best.

Match 1: England df South Africa by 104 runs

3 – Ben Stokes (England)
2 – Jofra Archer (England)
1 – Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

Match 2: West Indies df Pakistan by 7 wkts (218 br)

3 – Oshane Thomas (West Indies)
2 – Mohammad Amir (Pakistan)
1 – Chris Gayle (West Indies)

Match 3: New Zealand df Sri Lanka by 10 wkts (203 br)

3 – Matt Henry (New Zealand)
2 – Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)
1 – Martin Guptill (New Zealand)

Match 4: Australia df Afghanistan by 7 wkts (93 br)

3 – David Warner (Australia)
2 – Pat Cummins (Australia)
1 – Aaron Finch (Australia)

Match 5: Bangladesh df South Africa by 21 runs

3 – Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh)
2 – Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh)
1 – Faf du Plessis (South Africa)

Match 6: Pakistan df England by 14 runs

3 – Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)
2 – Jos Buttler (England)
1 – Joe Root (England)

Match 7: Sri Lanka df Afghanistan by 34 runs

3 – Nuwan Pradeep (Sri Lanka)
2 – Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)
1 – Kusal Perera (Sri Lanka)

Match 8: India df South Africa by 6 wkts (15 br)

3 – Rohit Sharma (India)
2 – Yuzvendra Chahal (India)
1 – Chris Morris (South Africa)

Match 9: New Zealand df Bangladesh by 2 wkts (17 br)

3 – Ross Taylor (New Zealand)
2 – Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh)
1 – Matt Henry (New Zealand)

Match 10: Australia df West Indies by 15 runs

3 – Nathan Coulter-Nile (Australia)
2 – Mitchell Starc (Australia)
1 – Steve Smith (Australia)

Match 11: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka NO RESULT

Can’t get enough cricket? Be sure to check out more of our 2019 World Cup content here.

Match 12: England df Bangladesh by 106 runs

3 – Jason Roy (England)
2 – Jofra Archer (England)
1 – Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh)

Match 13: New Zealand df Afghanistan by 7 wkts (107 br)

3 – James Neesham (New Zealand)
2 – Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)
1 – Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Match 14: India df Australia by 36 runs

3 – Shikhar Dhawan (India)
2 – Virat Kohli (India)
1 – Alex Carey (Australia)

Match 15: South Africa vs West Indies NO RESULT

Match 16: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh NO RESULT

Match 17: Australia df Pakistan by 41 runs

3 – David Warner (Australia)
2 – Mohammad Amir (Pakistan)
1 – Aaron Finch (Australia)

Match 18: India vs New Zealand NO RESULT

Match 19: England df West Indies by 8 wkts (101 br)

3 – Joe Root (England)
2 – Mark Wood (England)
1 – Jofra Archer (England)

Match 20: Australia df Sri Lanka by 87 runs

3 – Aaron Finch (Australia)
2 – Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)
1 – Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Match 21: South Africa df Afghanistan by 9 wkts (116 br)

3 – Imran Tahir (South Africa)
2 – Chris Morris (South Africa)
1 – Andile Phehlukwayo (South Africa)

Match 22: India df Pakistan by 89 runs

3 – Rohit Sharma (India)
2 – Mohammad Amir (Pakistan)
1 – Virat Kohli (India)

Match 23: Bangladesh df West Indies by 7 wkts (51 br)

3 – Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh)
2 – Liton Das (Bangladesh)
1 – Shai Hope (West Indies)

Match 24: England df Afghanistan by 150 runs

3 – Eoin Morgan (England)
2 – Jofra Archer (England)
1 – Joe Root (England)

Match 25: New Zealand df South Africa by 4 wkts (3 br)

3 – Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
2 – Colin de Grandhomme (New Zealand)
1 – Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)


9 – Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh)
7 – Jofra Archer (England)
6 – David Warner (Australia), Mohammad Amir (Pakistan), Rohit Sharma (India)
5 – Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand), Aaron Finch (Australia), Joe Root (England)
4 – Matt Henry (New Zealand), Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
3 – Ben Stokes (England), Oshane Thomas (West Indies), Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan), Nuwan Pradeep (Sri Lanka), Chris Morris (South Africa), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Australia), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Jason Roy (England), James Neesham (New Zealand), Shikhar Dhawan (India), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Eoin Morgan (England)
2 – Pat Cummins (Australia), Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh), Jos Buttler (England), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Yuzvendra Chahal (India), Virat Kohli (India), Mark Wood (England), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Liton Das (Bangladesh), Colin de Grandhomme (New Zealand)
1 – Quinton de Kock (South Africa), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Kusal Perera (Sri Lanka), Steve Smith (Australia), Alex Carey (Australia), Andile Phehlukwayo (South Africa), Shai Hope (West Indies)

The current leader with 9 votes is Shakib al Hasan with 2 man of the matches, a runner up and a third place out of 4 games. Second place with 7 votes is Jofra Archer, who is yet to get a man of the match award but has been in the votes every time. After them are a number of players with 6 votes, including David Warner with 2 man of the match awards but not much else, as is Rohit Sharma, while Mohammad Amir has 3 times been the 2nd best player, in spite of his team losing. We’re only half-way through and anything can happen (not to mention that this isn’t the actual criteria for the player of the tournament award) but certainly right now Shakib al Hasan is our best player in the tournament. He was the best afield both times that Bangladesh won, and did pretty well when they lost too.

Have an opinion you want to share? Be sure to join the conversation online by liking us on Facebook or following us on TwitterBetter yet, why not write for us?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: