Adelaide Crows Team of the Decade 2010-2019

Who made the cut and who missed out when Joel Bowes selected the Adelaide Crows Team of the Decade?

Over the last ten years, the Crows have undergone some trials and tribulations, but they’ve also produced some incredible players. To qualify for this side, players had to spend at least four seasons at the Crows and their efforts from the decade of 2010-2019 alone are what have been used to select the side.


Premature retiree Matthew Jaensch had plenty of potential before he called time on his career early. At full back is the great Ben Rutten, one of the all-time best defenders, and this team’s vice captain, with handy swingman Andy Otten rounding out the men at the back. Rebounding are current players Brodie Smith and Rory Laird, both All Australian and both classy by foot. Lastly is Daniel Talia at centre half back, Rising Star winner in 2012 and one of the game’s most underrated stars. Talia puts plenty of forwards in their place and deserves a spot in this side.


With plenty of stars to pick from choosing midfielders was difficult. Tap man Sam Jacobs was an easy selection, with Rory Sloane and Patrick Dangerfield joining him at the bounce. In the centre is three hard-body stars, with Scott Thompson, Nathan van Berlo and David Mackay all making strong cases for their place in the side. All three veterans have a place in Crow’s folklore and join modern greats Sloane and Dangerfield in a better than handy midfield.

Be sure to check out Joel Bowes Top Ten Crows of the Decade.


Up front is skipper Taylor Walker is the key man, with Josh Jenkins sitting at full forward. The key forward duo are joined by fellow tall linkman Tom Lynch with Eddie Betts and Jason Porplyzia crumbing at the bottom of the pack. Finally, veteran Richard Douglas is the final member of the forward line and brings some added accuracy and footy smarts to an already tough group.


Current midfield bull Matt Crouch is good enough to get a spot, along with Indigenous Round hero Jared Petrenko, Hawks star Ricky Henderson and unlucky midfielder Brent Reilly all claim spots. Reilly’s career was cut short through injury and Henderson’s time at the Crows ended for the same reasons.


Although he’s copped a lot of flak over the last couple years, Don Pyke was Adelaide’s most successful coach in terms of win/loss record and led them to a Grand Final in 2017. Pyke may have stepped down at the end of 2019, but he was for certain Adelaide’s coach of the decade, beating the only other real competitor, Brenton Sanderson.

Make sure you check out the top five wins of the Pyke era.

Full Team List

B: Matthew Jaensch, Ben Rutten (vc), Andy Otten

HB: Brodie Smith, Daniel Talia, Rory Laird

C: Scott Thompson, Nathan van Berlo, David Mackay

HF: Richard Douglas, Taylor Walker (c), Tom Lynch

F: Eddie Betts, Josh Jenkins, Jason Porplyzia

FOL: Sam Jacobs, Rory Sloane, Patrick Dangerfield

INT: Matt Crouch, Brent Reilly, Jared Petrenko, Ricky Henderson

COACH: Don Pyke

Have an opinion you want to share? Be sure to join the conversation online by liking us on Facebook.

Better yet, why not write for us?

1 thought on “Adelaide Crows Team of the Decade 2010-2019

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: